Beet Head

Image

I went hog-wild with the beets in the spring because I love, love, love them. It would take to long to complete all of them in one day because of the little ones demanding my attention. So for this week, I am planning on doing one large pot a day untill they are finished. I am trying the freezing method this year. In years past I have always pickled them and then canned them. Again that takes too much time away from my girls. Maybe with the last batch I will pickle and can them. If you are curious about processing beets keep reading for directions.

  1. Remove the greens and stems.
  2. Wash aff any extra soil.
  3. Place in a large pot and cover with water and a lid.
  4. I put them on high and boil them for 30-40 minutes or until you can pierce them with a fork.
  5. Place under cold running water.
  6. When they are cool enough to touch, use a small knike to cutt the tops and bottom part off. From there you can pop the skins right off.
  7. Slice or quarter them into a bowl.
  8. Place in freezer bags and freeze.

What have you been up to in your kitchen?

Image

 

Leave a Reply

