Do It For Cheese

Anyone who knows me well, knows I love cheese. When I was young and in sports, a family friend (you know who you are) would yell “do it for cheese!” So it is no surprise that I had to learn to make it myself. My husband bought me Ricki Carroll’s book, Home Cheese Making. If you visit her website, www.cheesemaking.com you will be able to find anything you need for cheese making. Last summer I purchased a 30 minute mozzarella kit, hard cheese making kit, and blue prints for a cheese press. Brook made me the cheese press but I did not have luck with the hard cheeses. I am not giving up on the hard cheeses yet, but at this point in my life, thirty minutes is all I have and I can make some yummy mozzarella. It may not look so pretty but when it is sliced with some tomatoes and basil, no one will care about the looks. The whole process sounds hard, but if you can follow a recipe you will be able to make it too. The kit is great because it gives you all your ingredients, tools, and instructions for several batches of cheese. The book has all the same recipes but it gives an overview of the ingredients and the kinds of milks to use. I like to use raw milk from a farmer down the road.

Image

Bringing the milk to the correct tempurature.

Image

Letting the milk rest after adding the rennet.

Image

Curds and whey

Image

After you stir it for about five minutes the cheese starts to form.

Image

The finished product after pouring off the whey and working the cheese for a few minutes. It doesn’t look pretty but it tastes good. It truly does only take about 30 minutes. It is amazing that this is all the cheese you get from a gallon of milk. It doesn’t last long in this house!

 

Leave a Reply

