Too Cold For The Birds

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

It was down right cold yesterday! So cold that the sink pipes froze and I ended up doing dishes in the utility sink. Thank goodness for that utility sink. It is also being used to fill buckets of water for the horses because the outside water is completely frozen. Poor Brook, it takes him so long at night to feed and water, He is so bundled I can hardly find him in all his layers.

So, as much as I wanted to go thrifting and stick to my plans yesterday, I heard my mother’s voice in the back of my head saying, “You can’t take those babies out in this kind of cold. What if something happens? What if the van breaks down?” Yes, yes, she has made me quite paranoid in certain situations and I find myself doing it with my own children at times. So, we stayed in and kept the wood stove cranked, cleaned, and started on the organizing of closets. There were times I wanted to kick the kids out of the house for a while, but we got through it. We made bird feeders from the rind of an orange. We waited all day and looked outside often to see if any hungry birds were stopping by for lunch or a quick snack. No visitors on this cold day. It was even too cold for the birds to be out.We made muffins from the lone, overripe banana on the counter and prepared a most delicious dinner of homemade meatball sliders and salad. We even have a tray of meatballs in the freezer for those nights mama just doesn’t feel like cooking. It is days like these that feel long, chaotic, and exhausting. But, when I rest my head on the pillow at night I am so grateful for productivity, a warm house for my babes, and hot healthy food in their bellies. 

Banana Blueberry Muffins (adapted from our traditional family recipe)

1 3/4 c. flour ( I use a mixture of oat, white, and wheat)

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

2/3 cup sugar ( I use raw)

1/3 c shortening ( I use coconut oil because I am not a fan of shortening. It works just as well and gives a great flavor to the muffins)

2 eggs

1 c buttermilk

1 mashed overripe banana

1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

1/4 c chopped pecans (optional)

1/4 cup coconut

Mix flour, soda, salt, and baking powder. Cream sugar, coconut oil, eggs. Add dry ingredients and banana alternatively. fold in nuts and blueberries. Place in lined muffin tins. top with coconut. Bake for 30 minutes at 350. Makes 12 muffins. 

 

Leave a Reply

