Why I Don’t Make My Own Laundry Soap

There are two things I don’t do around here. One, make my own cleaning products and two, use cloth diapers. There I said it!

I can hear all of you gasping for air…. “What kind of homesteading mama is she?”

One who likes to keep her sanity!

DSCN7134

Believe me, I have tried making laundry soap on several occasions. The truth is, it does not work. My husbands laundry is smelly and dirty. Who am I kidding, mine are too. We work hard and play hard. Plus, that huge bucket took up way to much space in my laundry room.

The reasons I like homemade laundry soap is that it seemed to be the safer alternative for our very old septic system.  The previous owners did a great job of keeping it in working condition, so I really do not want to break it.

My problem…. I could not to find a laundry soap or a bleach alternative that I really liked that was environmentally safe as well as safe for our septic system.

My accidental discovery happened while at the health food store buying Grace and Hannah omega vitamins. The owner of the shop introduced me to the Melaleuca Company. I heard of them before and how great their cleaning products were.  Needless to say I went home and did some research. What I found out about the cleaning agents I was using was shocking. Caustic chemicals in my hand soap, dish soap, shampoo, and so on, absorbing into mine and my families bodies. These chemicals can act as hormones, cause asthma, skin issues, cancer, and infertility.

WHAT!!! I have been trying my hardest to keep my family healthy and safe by raising our own food and eating fairly clean, but I was blind to what we were cleaning our home and our bodies with.

DSCN7136

It was a wake up call for me. We are now a part of the Melaleuca Company. The best part, their cleaning products ROCK! They really work. That little bottle of hand soap has lasted me two months and it is only half way empty. Not to mention I can order everything on my computer and it comes right to my door. That means less trips to Target tempting me to spend more money. Now if Melaleuca only sold diapers.

Leave a Reply

