A Christmas Message

perfection

The cookies are made, Sawyer’s stocking is finished and ready for her first Christmas, the handmade gifts are almost finished, and the wrapping well, that needs to be finished too. Oh and the gatherings I had planned to have this season, whelp my planning just wasn’t the best and my house was a mess.

I did it again. I got sucked into what everybody says Christmas should look like, smell like, and feel like. Even though we scaled back from gift giving and focused more on time together, part of me still had projects, baking, and decorating I wanted to do. There is nothing wrong with these things if you can handle them. Me… well I can’t, I obsess until it is perfectly perfect. It drives me and my family crazy. Why am I telling you this, because this post was suppose to be an update on how our Christmas season is going and all the fun things we are doing as a family, but let’s get real.

I struggle with these perfect ideas in my head and then am let down with the reality of life. You know what I am talking about…

My head :  Making cookies with the girls will be fun!

Reality:   Sprinkles on the floor, baby starts crying, I stop breathing, kids are eating the icing.

My Head: Let’s invite friends over for a festive get together.

Reality: Did not plan in advance, too spur of the moment, house is not clean

My Head: Doing DIY projects with the girls.

Reality:  I end up taking over in about a minute because the projects were too hard. They end up running around the house until I am finished. Baby starts crying. I get frustrated!

My Head: Let’s watch a Christmas movie with hot chocolate and popcorn!

Reality: Hot Chocolate spills within two minutes, the toddler is not interested after ten, and the baby starts crying because she is ready for bed.

Is this really what Christmas is about?

Yes, I love to do these things with my family, but I need to let go of the perfect pinterest ideas and focus on the memories I am making with my kids. Who cares if they eat the icing and sprinkles while they decorate cookies. I do. It is hard to throw out that image of perfection. What if people judge me?  Facebook, pinterest, and instagram only show part of who I am. The “got-it-together” side, right? Maybe you even do it too.

Yes, you see one side of me but, but God sees all of me. My good days and my bad days. I am so thankful I have a God who loves me and who’s grace is sufficient for me. His power is made perfect in weakness (2 Cor. 12:9).

But why do I still continue to strive so hard for the perfect house, perfect kids, perfect body, etc…… knowing full well that it will never happen. Why do I still get upset when sprinkles hit the floor or the dog drags mud and hay into my freshly clean house?

Just because I know and follow Jesus does not make me perfect.  I am still a sinner and need His grace every minute of the day because I have struggles too. We all have struggles. Satan is around every corner just waiting for us to mess up and fall into temptation. He loves it and loves to make us feel the guilt of those mistakes. Satan hates when we run back to our Heavenly Father and seek forgiveness.

So when I fail miserably at trying to be perfect I remember this…

Jesus was born in a dirty stinky stable. His bed was an animals feeding trough. Think about that.

Perfect? No. But just what God had planned. I guess it does not matter if my house is clean or if it is decorated just right before I invite guests over to dine. God just wants me (and you) to share the love of His Son no matter what time of year it is.

So what if I broke my obsessive cycle of dishes, gym, laundry, mop, yell at kids, sweep, dishes, pick up toys, yell at kids to pick up toys, dishes(we don’t have a dish washerJ) laundry, cook, (repeat) and instead invest in the lives of others. That’s really scary.

“You want me to do what God? But it’s so much more comfortable living this way.”

“My grace is sufficient for you ___(your name here)___? My power is made perfect in your weakness. It is time to change and grow.”

 

Thank You God for sending your son Jesus to repair our brokenness and to bring light to a dark world. Help me to step out of my comfort zone and to be brave in what You are calling me to do. I need Your strength to end the meaningless work and toil that keeps me from sharing Your love. Amen.

 

Whatever you are struggling with today reach out to Jesus. Give it to Him. God did not send Him into a perfect world. He sent Him to a world in need. To the broken and hurting. That means ALL of us.

I pray you receive the best Gift this Christmas. The One who will not break, get lost, or be forgotten about.

John 3:16-17 “For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life. For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world , but to save the world through Him.”

It is as simple as inviting Christ into your heart. He does not care what you did or are doing, He just wants to heal your brokenness.

Love & Merry Christmas

~Sarah~

6 thoughts on “A Christmas Message

  1. If you ever need to feel better about your house, drop by mine. I can only manage to keep about one room clean at any given time 😦 lol

  2. SARAH, I HAVE NEVER POSTED A REPLY ON THE INTERNET, BUT YOURS WAS SO BEAUTIFUL AND ON TARGET THAT I JUST COULDN’T PASS IT BY – THANK YOU FOR BEING YOU AND SHARING YOUR LOVE …. IT REFLECTS IN ALL YOU DO, EVEN FROM JUST A INTERNET SCREEN. PICASSO’S ART IS HIGHLY VALUED TODAY!!!! MAY GOD CONTINUE TO WORK THRU YOU AND YOUR FAMILY – MERRY CHRISTMAS – MOM’S FRIEND EVA – THANK YOU FOR SHOWING US OLDER FOLKS THAT GOD HAS NOT COMPLETELY ABANDON THE USA ! – KEEP ON POSTING GIRL

  3. Sarah
    I so needed to read this!! Sounds like my life lately!!! This is so beautifully written. Wishing you and your family a relaxing Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

